Board of Directors 2019-02-12T15:36:13+00:00

Chairperson: Ken-ichi Murata (Toyota)

Ken-ichi Murata is a Project General Manager, ITS・Connected Management Division, Connected Company, Toyota Motor Corporation

He started his career as a research scientist at Sony Computer Science Laboratories Inc., then moved to Sony Corporation and Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. as a systems architect of software platforms of various consumer electronics devices. In 2008, he joined Toyota, acting as a Global Chief Engineer of in-vehicle multi-media/telematics systems, and in 2015 took his current position as a strategist of connected vehicles.

Treasurer: Dr. Geng Wu (Intel)

Dr. Geng Wu is an Intel Fellow and Chief Technologist for wireless standards in the Client and Internet of Things Business and System Architecture Group at Intel Corporation.

He leads Intel’s 5G wireless standards and technology development, and works extensively with global research and development community and ecosystem partners. His current focus areas include future generation network architectures and devices including automotive, new air interface design and performance evaluation, and cross-layer optimization for mobile services and applications.


Secretary: Christer Boberg (Ericsson)

Christer Boberg serves as a Director at Ericsson CTO Office driving strategies around IoT and Cloud technologies where he focus on bringing new technologies in place to solve networking for the industry on a global scale. Prior to this he has been driving Ericsson Communication Services technology strategy and been responsible for bringing several products and solutions to market as well as being an technology expert for related domains.

Ryutaro Kawamura

Director: Dr. Ryutaro Kawamura (NTT)

Dr. Ryutaro Kawamura is currently Senior Vice President, Director at NTT Service Innovation Laboratory Group.

In 1989 he joined Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation’s (NTT) Transport Systems Laboratories. From 1998-1999, he was a visiting researcher in Columbia University. From 2003 to now, he is a Board of Director of OSGi Alliance. He is engaged in research on network reliability techniques, network control and management, high-speed computer networks, network middleware, home network, industrial network, software component and IoT.

Tomohiro Miyachi

Director: Tomohiro Miyachi (DENSO)

Tomohiro Miyachi is a Director and head of Mobility System & Service R&D Dept., Information & Safety Business Group of DENSO Corporation, leadaing service and system development of connected car, which DENSO places as one of the top priorities of future business. He started his carrier as a product designer of Air conditioning system in DENSO, and was transferred to system development department of Human Machine Interface for Automated Drive and Advanced Driver Assistance System to advance the project as a leader.

Tomohiro Otani

Director: Tomohiro Otani (KDDI)

Tomohiro Otani is an executive director of KDDI Research, Inc., where is responsible for R&D activities related to IoT, connected car, big data platforms, and associated operational technologies. Prior to his role as Executive Director, Otani served as general manager of Operation Support System Development Department of Operations Sector at KDDI Corporation. Here, he was responsible for developing operational support systems (OSS) for fixed and mobile networks. He has been a member of the technical programming committee of international technical conferences and was a co-chair of TPC of MPLS2007 and iPOP2017. He is one of the authors of IETF RFCs (3471, 5146, 6825, 7025).

Tomohiro Otani

Director: Yoshiyuki Hamada (Cisco)

Yoshiyuki Hamada joined Cisco Japan on January 1st, 2016 as Director, CTO and CISO. In this role, he is responsible for managing technology strategy for the Japanese market as well as for promoting Cisco’s cyber security technology and partnership development in the country.

He joined Colt Asia (formerly known as KVH Co., Ltd.) in 1999, and held various leadership roles, including Director, Service Development & Networking Planning, Vice President, Service Strategy & Design, and Vice President, Head of Technology Division. Prior to that, he worked for Sumitomo Communications Engineering as an engineer for optical transmission system development and implementation.

Yoshiyuki holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electric Engineering from Nihon University.

Tomohiro Otani

Director: Vish Nandlall (Dell-EMC)

Vish Nandlall is the Vice President of Emerging Technology and Ecosystems at Dell-EMC. Prior to joining Dell, he served as Chief Technology Officer for Ericsson North America, where he designed their regional market strategy and technology roadmap. He has also worked as CTO for Extreme Networks and Nortel Carrier Networks. He has been published several times, holds multiple patents, and has been listed by Wireless World as one of their Global 100 Wireless Experts. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Engineering, First Division, with a focus in Electrical Engineering, from the University of New Brunswick.